Tribal Government

The Hopi people established the Hopi Tribal Council on Dec. 19, 1936, with the adoption of the Hopi Constitution and By-Laws. According to the constitution, the Hopi Tribal Council has the power and authority to represent and speak for the Hopi Tribe in all matters for the welfare of the Tribe, and to negotiate with federal, state and local governments, and with the councils or governments of other tribes.

Today’s current council consists of 14 representatives from the villages of Upper Moenkopi, Bacavi, Kykotsmovi and Mishongnovi. Currently, the villages of Sipaulovi, Shungopavi, Oraibi, Hotevilla, Lower Moenkopi and First Mesa Consolidated Villages (Walpi, Shitchumovi and Tewa) do not have a representative on council. Representatives to the council are selected either by a community election or by an appointment from the village kikmongwi, or leader. Each representative serves a two-year term.

The Hopi Tribal Government is a unicameral government where all the powers are vested in the Tribal Council. While there is an executive branch (tribal chairman and vice chairman) and judicial branch, their powers are limited under the Hopi Constitution.

Please feel free to contact the Hopi Tribal Council via Neva Poneoma, Legislative Secretary, at 928-734-3133, or by email at [email protected] for more information.

The general email box for Hopi Tribal Council members is [email protected]

Hopi Tribal Council Members – 2015

Chairman: Herman G. Honanie
Vice Chairman: Alfred Lomahquahu, Jr.
Tribal Secretary: Vernita Selestewa
Treasurer: Robert Sumatzkuku
Sergeant-at-Arms: Alfonso Sakeva

Village of Upper Moenkopi

Danny Humetewa
Jonathan Phillips
Leroy Sumatzkuku
Michael Elmer

Village of Bakabi

Davis F. Pecusa
Gail Poley
Lamar Keevama

Village of Kykotsmovi

Alban Mooya, Jr.
Miona Kaping
Nada Talayumptewa
Norman Honanie

Village of Mishongnovi

Annette F. Talayumptewa
Malinda Andrews
Mervin Yoyetewa